DepartmentsFashionHome and Style

Inspirations: Leaving The House In Style

By Katie Sweeney

With California on track to fully reopen for business on June 15, things are looking up. Why not celebrate with a decor update inspired by our favorite fashion trends? Brighten your summer with a little joy, a dash of fun — and a breath of fresh air.


Joy!

In both the fashion and interior design communities, joy pervades. Think vibrant colors, bold accents and playful prints — anything that sparks pure and utter bliss when you look at it. Choose statement pieces that make you and your loved ones smile.

Dolce & Gabbana, Spring 2021
Dolce & Gabbana, Spring 2021

Inspiration: Dolce & Gabbana, Spring 2021



Bud Vase Set ($99), Heath Ceramics, San Francisco. heathceramics.com


Chroma Table Lamp by Arturo Erbsman
Chroma Table Lamp by Arturo Erbsman

Chroma Table Lamp by Arturo Erbsman (price available upon request), Roche Bobois, San Francisco. roche-bobois.com


Lips Velvet Settee in Hot Pink
Lips Velvet Settee in Hot Pink

Lips Velvet Settee in Hot Pink ($649), Tov. tovfurniture.com


Bahia Fabric in Lemon
Bahia Fabric in Lemon

Bahia Fabric in Lemon ($165/yard), Serena Dugan, Sausalito. serenadugan.com


icecream by Erin Lin
icecream by Erin Lin

icecream by Erin Lin ($290), Serena & Lily, San Francisco. serenaandlily.com


 

Squiggly Lines

While a classic stripe is perpetually in style in clothing and home design, this summer’s trendsetters are embracing the wavy and the wiggly. Squiggly lines, ruffles and swirls in unexpected places add a touch of whimsy and playfulness to any space.

Emilio Pucci, Spring 2021
Emilio Pucci, Spring 2021

Inspiration: Emilio Pucci, Spring 2021


Gold Scribbles for General Public by Charlie Leal
Gold Scribbles for General Public by Charlie Leal

Gold Scribbles for General Public by Charlie Leal ($2,171), RH, Corte Madera. rhmodern.com


Handpainted Silk in Black and White by Alexandra D. Foster
Handpainted Silk in Black and White by Alexandra D. Foster

Handpainted Silk in Black and White by Alexandra D. Foster ($195), Jonathan Rachman Design, San Francisco. jonathanrachman.com


Kensington Wave Rug by Adeeni Design Atelier
Kensington Wave Rug by Adeeni Design Atelier

Kensington Wave Rug by Adeeni Design Atelier (price available upon request), Adeeni Design Galerie, San Francisco. adeenidesigngroup.com


Port 68 Malachite Box
Port 68 Malachite Box

Port 68 Malachite Box ($410), Neiman Marcus, San Francisco and Palo Alto. neimanmarcus.com


Plants

During the pandemic, many of us took up gardening and doubled (even tripled) the number of plants in our homes. If you haven’t jumped on the plant bandwagon, there are plenty of ways to incorporate florals and foliage into your home decor. Embrace the trend by adding botanical-inspired items — prints, throws, wallpaper — to your favorite rooms.

Johanna Ortiz, Spring 2021
Johanna Ortiz, Spring 2021

Inspiration: Johanna Ortiz, Spring 2021


Gold Leaf Wall Art, Set of Three
Gold Leaf Wall Art, Set of Three

Gold Leaf Wall Art, Set of Three ($69.99), Tov. tovfurniture.com


Classic Plant Subscription
Classic Plant Subscription

($60/month), The Sill, San Francisco. thesill.com


Floral Arrangements by Flowers Claire Marie
Floral Arrangements by Flowers Claire Marie

Floral Arrangements (prices vary) by Flowers Claire Marie, San Francisco. flowersclairemarie.com


Brass Cactus Table Lamp
Brass Cactus Table Lamp

Brass Cactus Table Lamp ($1,915), Jonathan Adler, San Francisco. jonathanadler.com


Palms Eclectic Handpainted Wallpaper
Palms Eclectic Handpainted Wallpaper

Palms Eclectic Handpainted Wallpaper ($1,675/panel), de Gournay, San Francisco. degournay.com

Related Articles

Check Also
Close
Back to top button